Happy Anniversary, Endy

New York Mets
2 min readOct 19, 2020

--

By Jay Horwitz

Happy Anniversary, Endy Chávez! Your catch took place 14 years ago today.

With the score tied at one in the sixth inning of Game 7 of the NLCS game versus the St. Louis Cardinals at Shea, Endy leaped over the left field wall to turn a potential two-run home run by Scott Rolen into an inning-ending double play.

I thought for sure “The Catch” would certainly propel us to victory and a spot in the World Series, but Yadier Molina’s two-run homer in the ninth inning ended that dream.

Sure it was a bitter sweet night, but the loss still can’t take away from Chávez’s dramatic catch.

“I still don’t know how I caught the ball,” recalled Endy, who is still a coach in the Mets minor league system. “I just jumped as high as I could and I came down with the ball.”

Endy then made a spot on throw to José Valentín who fired the ball to Carlos Delgado to double off Jim Edmonds at first base.

“It’s nice people haven’t forgotten,” he said with a laugh.” Around this time every year I get “The Catch” cards for me to sign. It’s good to have a place in Mets’ history.”

Chavez does have one regret about that night.

“It would have been so much better if we had won and gone on to win the World Series,” he said. “I thought my catch was a sign for us that things would have worked out. Unfortunately, that wasn’t to be.”

Chávez is proud that his play always will make him a part of the team’s lore.

“I could be out shopping and people will come over to me and say “I saw your catch,” he concluded. “That makes me feel proud.”

--

--